Development of new sustainable energy projects across Alaska will gain the support of knowledgeable and experienced local experts through the Arctic Energy Ambassadors program. Established by the Arctic Energy Office, in collaboration with the Denali Commission and the Alaska Municipal League, this innovative initiative will empower 12 practitioners from each of Alaska’s diverse regions with the goal of fostering energy security and advancing the clean energy transition across the state.

Developed in alignment with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Arctic Strategy, the program will cultivate regional, place-based, and collaborative energy leadership. Ambassadors will benefit through shared resources, knowledge-sharing partnerships, and access to technical assistance, to help drive sustainable projects across Alaska.

This strategic collaboration led by the Arctic Energy Office is financially supported by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Arctic Energy Office, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, and Office of State and Community Energy Programs.

The passionate and community-focused Ambassadors were selected through a competitive application process for their experience and connections to regional energy development, grant writing skills, and support from their host organizations. They will be tasked with articulating community and regional needs, connecting stakeholders, promoting capacity development, facilitating regional technical assistance, and developing replicable projects.

We welcome the first cohort of Arctic Energy Ambassadors:

Kristina D. Andrew, Bristol Bay
Bristol Bay Native Association

Eddie Dellamary, Interior
Tanana Chiefs Organization

Robert Venables, Southeast
Southeast Conference

Laresa Syverson, Aleutian
Ounalashka Corporation

Sean Glasheen, Calista
Nuvista Light & Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Reuben Brown, Chugach
PWS Economic Development District

Amanda Toerdal, Bering Strait
Kawerak, Inc.

Cassidi Cameron, Cook Inlet
Kenai Peninsula Economic Development District

Leann Sommer, Ahtna
Alaska Federation of Natives

Tyler Kornelis, Kodiak
Kodiak Area Native Association

Chan Charoonsophonsak, North Slope
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Kathleen M. Stuckey, Northwest Arctic
Atautchikun, LLC

For inquiries about the program, please contact Trisha Sims at More information about the program can be found at