• Granting Agency: Department of Homeland Security – FEMA
  • Appropriation Amount: $2,295,000,000
  • Grant Amount: <$2 Million Federal Share
  • Announcement Date: September 30, 2022
  • Closing Date: December 27, 2022 for Alaska sub-applicants; January 27, 2023 for directly applying tribes

Program Page – Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities

Alaska DHS&EM – Page for Alaska-specific information


FEMA administers the Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) to provide funding for hazard mitigation projects & planning. Federally-recognized tribes can apply directly; otherwise, applicants must apply as a sub-applicant with the state. This post focuses on information to apply as a sub-applicant.

Communities/consortiums of communities considering applying for BRIC can receive Direct Technical Assistance (DTA) from FEMA. This application for this aid also opens on September 30. Learn more here.

The State of Alaska participates in the BRIC grant program which provides grant funds to State agencies and local communities for hazard mitigation planning and the implementation of mitigation projects prior to a disaster event. It is federally funded through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at 75% of the plan or project and requires a 25% local fund match. The program is annual, nationally competitive and is intended to reduce overall risks to the population and structures, while also reducing reliance on funding from actual disaster declarations. A BRIC Planning grant is only available for communities who do not have a FEMA/State approved and community adopted All-Hazard Mitigation Plan. A BRIC grant is only available for communities who have a FEMA/State approved and community adopted Hazard Mitigation Plan. Hazard Mitigation Projects are intended to reduce risk to life and property and examples include:

  • Elevation of flood prone structures
  • Structural and non-structural seismic retrofits of public facilities
  • Voluntary acquisition or relocation of structures out of the floodplain
  • Natural hazard protective measures for utilities, water and sanitary sewer systems
  • Localized storm water management and flood control projects

Eligible Expenditures:

  • Capability & Capacity Building Initiatives 
    • Project Scoping
    • Risk Analysis
    • Hazard Mitigation Planning
    • Managed Retreat Plans
    • Seismic Design Work
    • Projects that help design, scope, idenitfy or reduce risks from natural hazards


  • Hazard Mitigation Retrofit / Protection Projects
    • Structural Seismic Retrofits
    • Structural Elevation and / or Relocation
    • Property Acquisition & Demolition
    • Soil Stabilization
    • Protection of Critical Infrastructure from Natural Hazards
    • Emergency Back up Power for Critical Facilities
    • High Wind Retrofit / Protection
    • Critical Utility Hardening / Protection
    • Wildfire / Combustable Fuels Reduction Projects

Eligible Applicants:

  • State agencies, boroughs, cities and Federally recognized tribal governments with a FEMA approved and locally adopted Hazard Mitigation Plan (HMP) as defined in 44 CFR Part 201


Contact Alaska’s BRIC Program Manager for more information on applying as a sub-applicant: